Resolutions and Thai Hippie Bowls

June 29, 2012 at 7:20 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

I’m a recent convert to the Mennonite denomination, but as far as I can tell (and this is what sold me), potlucks are one of the core faith values. The church I usually attend in Seattle doesn’t regularly have them like most other Mennonite churches (you’re going to have to forgive my sweeping generalizations in this post, and apparently the overuse of parentheses), so the young adults have taken matters into their own hands and created a bi-monthly potluck group. Google doc organized and always deliciously themed…what’s not to love? But I digress. At a recent potluck, we were doing some ice-breaking and were sharing resolutions that we had made for 2012. If I haven’t mentioned it before, I despise New Year’s resolutions. The only good one that I have ever made and stuck to was when I only ate bread at home that I had made myself. Best. Year. Ever.

So, I made one up on the fly. But now I think I’m going to stick to it. And here’s where you come in…I resolved to write 10 of my own original recipes by the end of the year worth sharing. One has been in the works for quite some time and needs some tweaking, but as we approach the 7th month of the year, I figured I had better get a move on it. So until that one is ready (is the suspense killing you?), here’s my first recipe for the blog world. Drum roll…

Thai Hippie Bowls- serves 6

3 cups quinoa

4 1/2  cups water

1 T olive oil

2 t. salt

1 t. pepper

1 T dried basil

1/4 cup onion

1 crown of broccoli, broken into florets

2 red peppers, sliced thin

5-6 carrots, peeled and diced

2 cups snap peas

Peanut Sauce:

1 cup peanut butter

2 cups canned coconut milk, I used lite.

2 cloves of garlic, minced

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 t cayenne pepper, or more if you like things spicy

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup agave nectar

 

To make peanut sauce:

In a food processor, combine all ingredients until smooth. Pour into saucepan and heat over very low heat while you prepare the rest of the meal. Stir occasionally.

To make quinoa and veggies:

In a large soup pot, heat 1 T oil over medium-high heat. Saute onion with salt, pepper, and basil for about 2 minutes. Add quinoa and water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until water is absorbed and you can see the white rings around the quinoa.

While quinoa is simmering, prep your veggies. Listed above are the veggies I used, but honestly you can use whatever you like and/or have on hand. Put a small amount of water in another large pot and turn to medium-high heat. Add your veggies, sprinkle with a tiny bit of salt, and steam until they’re a desired doneness. I like mine to still have a little bit of crunch, about 6-7 minutes of steaming.

When everything is finished cooking, serve the quinoa, veggies, and sauce separately so people can build their own bowl. You can also include some toppings for people to add on like diced cucumber, sprouts (for extra hippie-ness), or sesame seeds.

I forgot to take a photo of the final dish. I’ve also been studying food styling recently, but for now you’ll have to deal with this photo from my crappy cell phone camera. You’ll also have to trust that my housemates loved this dish based on their expressions in the photo.

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Johanna said,

    This is why we are friends. 🙂 I forgot about your year of homemade bread . . . I may have to try this! I also love your Thai Hippie Bowl! I will have to try this for Brad. (He’s not that picky and will eat EVERYTHING, but he does notice when something is exceptionally delicious. I’ll let you know.)

Leave a Reply

