Tidying up

July 20, 2012 at 7:15 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve heard some attribute the following feelings to gender, however I think that it’s most likely due to being human: there are just those days when you go from feeling awesome to feeling like the complete opposite in one second. Personal things, plus news of the Colorado shooting, have made me want to hide under my desk all day. It just seems like it would be a better place to be right now.

 
Seriously contemplating this led me to discover how dirty that space is, though. So I started cleaning. I’m taking a brief break for lunch now and thought I’d share how healing the process of cleaning and praying has been this morning. It’s been a while, for both. Physically cleaning a space is helping me clean up my thoughts. Choosing joy, love, and constructive thoughts is such an effective approach to dealing with emotions and situations that I wish I could remember right away each time something comes up. God forgive me. But eventually I get there, and people…it works.

 

I’m hoping this weekend brings a few peaceful moments like last weekend, when I took the time to sit on our back deck and pit cherries for 3.5 hours. Many delicious treats are coming from this effort, but there were other benefits like having time to think. One of my favorite thought trains involved comparing our chickens to the ladies in Downton Abbey. Like I said, I had a lot of time to think.

 
Happy weekend. Love to all.

A better camera and photographer would be able to capture how lovely all of those cherries were.

Leave a Reply

